Welcome to Crimes on Campus

Adam Rubenfire/The Michigan Daily

Adam Rubenfire/The Michigan Daily

Crime is a hot topic for college newspapers. Unfortunately, it’s common on U.S. campuses, and it usually makes for good reporting—it tugs at readers’ emotions and there’s always some sort of conflict involved. Reporting on the crime beat has been a passion of mine at The Michigan Daily and I loved reading about crime on other campuses; but besides the occasional post on a college news site, I never could find a central place for newsgathering and analysis of campus crime–or simply campus law enforcement.

So, that’s what I’ll try to do here. Using the sources, knowledge and media diet I’ve accumulated while working at the Daily, I hope to both curate news from colleges around the country and also provide original content. I also hope to look beyond local college policy and focus on directives from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and Department of Education.  There’s a lot to write about, so stay tuned.

Have any story ideas or tips for how I should direct this project? Use the form below. I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

